Exclusive Interview: Justin Lawson

Mojomora
3 min readApr 3, 2021

Justin, tell us more about how you got into film & photography?

Well actually, I got into photography while I was in film school.

I think that’s pretty funny, but I started doing it mainly because I didn’t have any money to make the films I wanted to make.

Also, I was wearing a lot of hats at the time so I was making clothes too and I wanted to shoot all the promo for my clothes.

For now, I mostly stick to photography, film, and graphic design, but I have a feeling I’ll be coming back around to clothes again in some time.

I truly adore the way photographs can capture moods and moments, and I mean I’m a storyteller at heart so I had to find my own way to incorporate stories into my photos.

I’ve been shooting conceptual series for about 2 years now and it’s been a relieving process, finding ways to navigate and craft a style in that realm.

It’s a fun journey for my eye and my mind, and I notice the people in front of my lens dig it too so it’s a win/win to me.

Could you tell us some of your favorite things you’ve got to work on over the years?

Yeah!

Actually, back in November I got to work on a shoot for the cover of Flaunt Magazine.

I was assisting Kat Irlin, a PHENOMENAL photographer, and she was shooting Natalia Dyer, and that experience was a really good class for me.

Learned a lot of keys that day.

Also I’ve been shooting something called “His Last Moments,” which has been really fun and has led me to a lot of evolution in my way I take photographs and craft worlds before I even present them to an audience.

I’ve had some incredible help from Kyah Harris, my wardrobe stylist for the series so far.

She’s brilliant and has helped me craft the clothing of that world and giving it a timeless feel.

How would you best describe your style when it comes to photography / film?

Oh, I prepped for this question!

So, I heard some months ago that the best way to describe my style would be “Conceptual Fashion/Editorial Photography,” but I’ve also been called “Ethereal” which I don’t quite understand that word enough to see in my work yet (laughs), but I take it as a good thing.

I won’t bore you to death, but I’ve had this entire internal monologue/battle thing about wanting my work to feel immortal through timelessness, but I’ll save those words for my work or something like that.

Justin, what sort of advice would you give aspiring filmmakers?

They’ve probably read this 100 times, and I don’t even know if I’m in the place to give advice, but I’ll say just forge a world that you’ve never seen before and create stories that genuinely mean something to you.

Something that you can feel in your gut.

Use that medium wisely.

It’s a tough one to master, but when you find the keys and use the tools, you have something incredibly powerful.

Do you have anything that is new or upcoming that we can expect to see from you Justin?

Well, I’m finishing my “His Last Moments” series, which I’ll be making a book of.

Also, I’m finishing some other projects with some brands I adore so I expect that to go well since our hearts are in the work.

Very important to have heart in the work.

I have some films I’m writing, and when I get the resources to fund and cast my intricate horrors and bring them to screen, I expect you’ll see those too.

My filmmaking is very different from my photographs, but also very alike.

They are mostly horror, but they are still beautiful.

I also have some visual art pieces I’ve put together titled “Exhibit Two.”

That’s more nightmare based imagery.

But all my work coming should be fun and I’m interested in the responses I’ll get!

Follow Justin Lawson:

--

--

Mojomora

Mojomora has interviewed high-profile verified celebrities including X-Factor Finalist Joey Djia, multi-millionaire Sean Kelly, & Dance Trainer Lexy Panterra.